See some projects of the foundation.

The Species Conservation Foundation consists of the Council, the Advisory Council and the Office in Münster. All members of the committees work voluntarily for the Species Conservation Foundation. The Constitution of the Foundation (in German only) encompasses all fundamental legal issues.


The Council is the legal representative of the foundation and guarantor for the allocation of funds in accordance with the foundation’s charitable objectives.

Dirk Petzold, Chairman
Biologist, Working Group Zoo Biology Bielefeld, Germany


Jürgen Wolters, Deputy Chairman
Exectutive Director, Arbeitsgemeinschaft Regenwald and Artenschutz e.V. (ARA), Germany

H. Jörg Adler
Director, Münster Zoo, Germany, retired

Dr. Dag Encke
Director, Tiergarten Nürnberg, Germany

Sandra Honigs
Deputy Director, Aquazoo Düsseldorf, Germany

Advisory Council

The Advisory Council takes decisions on the allocation of funds and supervises the course of the projects.


Dr. Ulrike Braband
Schellenberg Stiftung

Volker Homes
Executive Director, Association of Zoological Gardens (VdZ)

Heiner Klös
Berlin Zoological Garden, Germany

Roland Melisch
TRAFFIC / WWF Germany, Frankfurt am Main, Germany

Henry M. Mix
Naturschutz International e.V., Berlin, Germany

Prof. Dr. Gunther Nogge
Director, Cologne Zoo, Germany, retired

Frank Petzold
Bielefeld, Germany

Dr. Dagmar Schratter
Direktorin des Schönbrunner Tiergartens

Dr. Heinz Tischer
Senior Consultant, Bochum, Germany

Roland Wirth
Advisory Council (Honorary Member), Zoological Society for the Conservation of Species and Populations (ZGAP), Germany

Dr. Klaus Wünnemann
Director, Zoo Heidelberg, Germany

Stefan Ziegler
Project Manager Asia/Russa, WWF



The office of the Species Conservation Foundation is located at Allwetterzoo Münster, Germany.
Contact: Dirk Loddenkemper (Assistant to Board of Directors)